847 for life

The moment I saw this area code necklace on baublebar.com, I knew I needed it in my life. After all, nothing says “myna from the block” like an area code necklace. (For those of you who don’t know me that well, it’s been a secret dream of mine to appear in a rap video. Sadly, I am not poetic enough to be a rapper so I’ll settle for just being in the background.)

Not only does this necklace make me feel badass and pretty all at the same time (Ludacris’ lyrics make it badass and the dainty turquoise acrylic make it pretty & feminine.) but it also reminds me of home. I am not sure if this is a shared feeling between all adventurers who leave home to pursue work, education, love or loftier dreams (in my case, a breakout rap artist Kanye would want featured on his next club track. I had to settle for becoming a lawyer.) but I want everyone in Texas to know where I come from.

Don’t get me wrong, I have fallen in love with each place I have moved since leaving home at the young age of 13. Boston, MA is where I made a family of friends, Gambier, OH is where I discovered my love of dance parties, New Orleans, LA is where I met my fiancé and had the time of my life at institutions like Gold Mine Saloon (there are many more things I love about NOLA but in an effort to be concise, I have only included two – more to come in a later post) and Houston, TX is where I first realized someone would actually PAY me for my talents as a lawyer. Aside from the fact that 4 area code necklaces seemed excessive, these cities, though INCREDIBLY special, are not home. These experiences across the US have helped me grow but my roots (and my heart) will always be in Evanston, IL. The memories I have barbequing with my family on the front lawn, playing running bases, making Dairy Queen runs and getting midnight snacks at Baker’s Square (our family LOVES to eat) will forever bring a smile to my face. Those precious years with my family are a part of my being and this necklace reminds me of that every day. And if my Chicago accent doesn’t give it away to those I meet, this necklace will be sure to let everyone know that though I enjoy a good rodeo, I am a Chicago girl who is ALWAYS on the hunt for the best deep-dish pizza.

xx-

Amyna

“847” Necklace: http://www.baublebar.com/acrylic-area-code-pendant.html

3 thoughts on “847 for life

Leave a comment